Sonia Hickey

About Sonia Hickey

Sonia Hickey is a freelance writer, magazine journalist and owner of “Woman with Words”. She has a strong interest in social justice and is a member of the Sydney Criminal Lawyers content team.

State of confusion: What you need to know about the border closures

With some states now closing their borders, differing fines and systems apply in each location. Here’s what you need to do.



This week, travelling around the country is nearly impossible as all Australian states except New South Wales, Victoria and the ACT have closed their borders. Many are now officially separated, indefinitely.

To complicate matters even further, the rules and penalties for failure to comply are different in each jurisdiction.

Last week, Tasmania put itself into lockdown, turning away any non-essential visitors. Earlier this week South Australia, Western Australia and the Northern Territory followed suit. As of midnight tonight, Queensland will also close its borders and has introduced a pass for those who are interested in entering or leaving the state.



Nevertheless, here’s what the laws are, state-by-state.



Anyone entering by air or road will need to self-isolate for 14 days. But there are also restrictions regarding who can come in, and who can’t.  Exceptions have been made for emergency workers, emergency vehicles, people travelling across the border for work, freight, court orders including family court, anyone travelling for medical treatment or compassionate reasons. For failing to comply, you can be fined up to $13,345.


Western Australia

The 14-day self-isolation period is also in place for anyone who is not an essential worker. Tourist hotspot Rottnest Island is being considered as a quarantine zone to keep infected people isolated. Failure to comply with Western Australia border and quarantine rules could result in a $50,000 fine or even 12 months’ imprisonment.


South Australia

Twelve border crossings have been established in South Australia to check on people entering the state. In SA, travellers have to sign a declaration about their health and pledge mandatory self-isolation for 14 days. People who live in communities bordering the state will be allowed to come and go, so long as their home towns remain free of coronavirus. In South Australia, the maximum penalty for failure to comply is $25,000.



Only Tasmanian residents and essential workers will be allowed aboard the Spirit of Tasmania ferry. In Tasmania, if you fail to adhere to strict border control measures you risk a $16,800 fine or possible jail time.


Northern Territory

Arrivals to the Northern Territory will be required to self-isolate for 14 days and must provide details of where they will be staying. Police officers will be placed on major highways to enforce the border closure and will use surveillance equipment to catch anyone trying to come in via back roads. A $62,000 fine is in place for anyone who breaks this quarantine.


NSW, Victoria and the ACT

Only NSW, Victoria and the ACT remain open to state-wide travellers, although like everywhere else in the country, travellers from overseas are required to self-isolate for 14 days, and not doing so could attract fine in NSW of up to $11,000 and even six months prison. In Victoria, the fine is $20,000.


Who is in charge of monitoring people in self-isolation?

In many cases, state health authorities have taken the lead to ensure those in isolation abide by the rules, but the police can – and actually have, in Victoria – conducted spot checks to ensure people are where they agreed to be.

Police also have the powers to lay charges if they believe an offence has been committed.

While it is understood that no one has been charged to date, as the virus continues to spread, and as governments and health authorities become increasingly concerned about how to stop it, warnings may not apply. To be clear, self-isolation means exactly that – you cannot come into contact with others during the mandated period.






Share via